Main content


First paper from J. Wartenweiler and M. Bieri: "Untersuchungen der Mechanik menschlicher Bewegungen" (investigations on the mechanics of human locomotion), Helvetica Physica Acta, XXXIV, Fasciculus octavus. (Wartenweiler_1961)

Prof. J. Wartenweiler established a research group in biomechanics, starting their activities in his huge office in the main building of ETH Zurich.

Prof. Dr. J. Wartenweiler  
Prof. Dr. J. Wartenweiler


Organiser of the first international seminar on biomechanics.


Foundation of the International Society of Biomechanics (ISB), Prof. J. Wartenweiler first president.


After the unexpected death of Prof.  J. Wartenweiler, B. Nigg became the head of this evolving research group.


B. Nigg accepted the call from the University of Calgary (CAN) and is a member of the Human Performance Laboratory.

E. Stüssi accepted the position as head of the Laboratory for Biomechanics (LfB), ETH Zurich. From now on the LfB is an autonomous research unit in the Department of Biology, ETH Zurich.

Dr. B. Nigg
Dr. B. Nigg


The Laboratory for Biomechanics becomes an official research institute of ETH Zurich.


Moved into the new building SWU at the ETH in Schlieren


Organiser of the first European Symposium on Clinical Gait Analysis.


Bone Stiffness Measurement Device (BSMD) flew on MIR Mission EUROMIR-95 ESA/EAC.


Torque Velocity Dynamometer (TVD) flew on the Life and Microgravity Spacelab (LMS) Mission ESA/NASA.


First Chair in Biomechanics at ETH Zurich created.

Prof. E. Stüssi become the first chair of the Laboratory/Institute for Biomechanics.

The LfB moves from Department of Biology to Department of Materials.

Prof. Dr. E. Stussi
Prof. Dr. E. Stussi


Bone Stiffness Measurement Device (BSMD) flew on the French-Russian PERSEUS Mission.


Organiser of the XVIIIth Congress of the International Society of Biomechanics in collaboration with the Institute of Biomedical Engineering.


Moved into the new building HCI at the ETH Hönggerberg


Changed from Department of Materials to Department of Mechanical and Process Engineering.


Changed the name from Laboratory for Biomechanics LfB to Institute for Biomechanics IfB.

Prof. Ralph Müller joined the Institute as an Associate Professor of Biomechanics.

Prof. Dr. R. Müller  
Prof. Dr. R. Müller


Prof. Jess Snedeker joined the Institute as an Assistant Professor for Orthopedic Biomechanics.

Prof. Edgar Stüssi became emeritus in June.

Prof. Ralph Müller became Director of the Institute for Biomechanics.


Prof. Dr. Jess Gerrit Snedeker  
Prof. Dr. Jess Gerrit Snedeker


Anniversary Symposium: 50 Years of Biomechanics at ETH Zurich

  • Brochure
  • ETH Live

Prof. Stephen J. Ferguson became Professor of Biomechanics.

Stephen J. Ferguson  
Stephen J. Ferguson


Changed from Department of Mechanical and Process Engineering to Department Health Science and Technology.

Prof. William R. Taylor became Professor of Biomechanics.


Prof. Stephen J. Ferguson became Director of the Institute for Biomechanics.

Prof. Dr. William R. Taylor  
Prof. Dr. William R. Taylor


Prof. Marcy Zenobi-Wong joined the Institute for Biomechanics. She is the Head of the Cartilage and Regeneration Laboratory.


Prof. William R. Taylor became Director of the Institute for Biomechanics.

Prof. Dr. Marcy Zenobi-Wong
Page URL: http://www.biomech.ethz.ch/the-institute/history.html
Tue Jul 25 04:44:53 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich